Event Reviews

Here you’ll find the testimonials from past guests, plus an Auckland review published on Stuff by Josephine Franks and a London review by Jessica O’Reilly’s on ‘Comfort Is For Wimps’.

IMG_2922%281%29.jpg

Caleb, Auckland

What a night! I felt welcome and comfortable. I had so much fun meeting everyone, there were a few times I completely forgot we were all naked. The food and atmosphere was perfect and nothing is better than sitting in front of a warm fire telling stories.

Screenshot+2019-04-28+at+22.51.36.jpg

Julia, Auckland

I ate dinner with 13 strangers. Naked.
Meeting 13 strangers is awkward and scary at first. You’re trying to make small talk but in everyone’s head is “I’m about to be naked with all these people!” There’s no pressure and everyone is welcome to move at their own pace. I figured I wanted to do it like a bandaid, so I ripped my apron off all at once.
Soon everyone followed suit.
Quickly by everyone being naked and in the same position I noticed conversations became deeper, more focused. People listened more intensely.
I noticed how we form presumptions. Before we were naked there were business men, engineers, accountants, yoga teachers, estate agents and dancers. We create judgements while speaking without realising, but when we are stripped of everything we use to identify ourselves with, what are we left with? Nothing. We listen. We connect human to human. There is no longer anything to hide behind. We identify ourselves so much with what we wear and how we present ourselves. We are covered with labels, but when you take that away you are open and vulnerable.
We spent hours chatting openly and freely about the universe, our existence, sex, sexuality, feminism. You name it. It was beautiful to be apart of this. To watch humans connect and interact in this way. I have never felt more safe and comfortable. Everyone listened to me as I explained my deepest and most personal thoughts and opinions. This became a safe place where we did not feel judged, where we could speak our minds and our hearts. We spoke about how nudity is viewed in this world. That nudity is not sexual, it is natural. The human body is not scary, it’s magnificent. We are so special. Nudity is something that is so feared. I’m proud of everyone and myself for stripping down, stepping outside of our comfort zones and doing this.

WhatsApp+Image+2019-02-16+at+14.28.58.jpg

I took my Tinder date to dinner with eight naked strangers (stuff.co.nz)

It would be safe to say when I volunteered to go along to a naked dinner party, I hadn't given the nudity part much thought. My ears pricked up at the mention of a free meal, and suddenly I was committed.

Reluctant to strip off in front of strangers alone, I scrolled through my phone contacts for a plus one, settling on the last person I saw naked: a man I'd been on three Tinder dates with.

He wasn't keen per se - in fact, he said he was terrified - but agreed to go on the grounds he wanted me to think he was "cool and uninhibited"……

naked-dinner-4.jpg

Naked dinner is London’s newest food experience (comfortisforwhimps.com)

Naked meet-and-eats with strangers is a relatively new concept and I was unsure of the point of it. Can eating spaghetti naked affect the taste of it? Does drinking starkers get you intoxicated quicker? The event details specified it was a strictly non-sexual affair, but contrastingly it was also described as fun and saucy. Worcestershire saucy then? ……

naked-dinner-3-1.jpg

Klaus, London

I didn't know what to expect from a naked dinner with strangers, but it was a surprisingly interesting experience! Organised by a wonderful couple, I met a bunch of easygoing and sophisticated people. The food offered was excellent and the conversation flowed as if we were all good old friends.

At no time did I feel uncomfortable or out of context, despite it being my first social experience naked! No odd moments, only good manners and interesting topics discussed! I will definitely have a second try.

WhatsApp Image 2019-02-16 at 14.29.45.jpeg

Peter, Auckland

I signed up for The Naked Dinner on a whim, hoping for a weird and interesting way to spend an evening, and I wasn’t disappointed. I didn’t quite know what to expect upon arriving, but what I found were two warm and gracious hosts, a bunch of nice, open-minded people, good food, good conversation and comfortable cushions to sit on. There was no pressure, no weirdness, and no judgement. As Alanis Morissette said, “I recommend walking around naked in [their] living room.” to anyone.

Wonderful people doing a wonderful thing.

Auckland 23 Feb 2019

Jeremy, Auckland

What an amazing night! Simply incredible hosts and I cannot stop raving about how much fun I had. 

A little out of my comfort zone to start with, but that’s the point, and you dealt with making everyone comfortable with ease. 

A true pleasure of an evening! Highly recommended. 

5_TND_16 Nov 18.jpeg

Mark, London

An unusual, liberating and actually rather charming way of spending an evening. Excellent hosts and effortlessly make something that would usually (at least in the UK) be considered a little risque (having dinner naked with nine other folk who start the evening as total strangers) seem - at least by the time the main course was served and everyone had had a drink or two - the most natural thing in the world. Arriving for the warm-up cocktail drinks, which happens fully-clothed, felt as relaxed as turning up for a corporate networking evening. The food was delicious and there was a decent balance between singletons and couples (four of the former and six of the latter), equal numbers of men and women and ages (twenties, thirties, forties). Inevitably the conversation tended to gravitate around people's experiences and feelings about public nudity. But it was equally charming to discuss other more usual dinner party topics (such as recent film releases) while in the buff.

23_TND_16 Nov 18.jpeg

Connie & David, London

David: What a cracking night. Food was great and the hosts were impeccable with their efforts to get everyone to feel at home. The conversation (and wine) flowed till late and it was fascinating to meet such a diverse group of people. I'm only sad that they are relocating to Aukland but see you at The Naked Dinner when they are back!!!

20_TND_16 Nov 18.jpeg

Matt, London

A brilliant evening. Not something we’ve done before or considered particularly but a fantastic evening. The hosts are simply wonderful and the food delicious. I went with my girlfriend but single attendees were welcome too. All in all a very new experience for us but a great one. Thanks!!

27_TND_16 Nov 18.jpeg

Sophie, London

If you enjoy new and unusual experiences then this is an absolute must-do. We didn’t know what to expect, but neither did anyone else. There was no need for any apprehension. The hosts were absolutely fab, made everyone feel at ease throughout and served the most delicious food. A fun-filled night with plenty of food, drinks, laughter and interesting conversations. Cannot wait to go again! Thanks so much.

58570829_266603187447803_5893056590264664064_n%281%29.jpg

Brista, Auckland

When I saw The Naked Dinner on Facebook, I was hesitant. I had so many questions such as where should I look? Should I gym harder to look better? Even once standing at the door, I thought, are we going to be asked to take everything off stratight away?

It turns out I was over-thinking: everything was so smooth. We had (clothed) welcome drinks - Lisa makes a mean Gin + Tonic- the room was so warm and the group had great energy.

Once naked, body decoration was one of the first topics. All tattoos, piercing, scars, birthmarks were shown….we all have secrets and are unique. I loved the sharing.

For dinner, Lisa brought endless dishes from her 'Magic Cabinet' to the table. I wondered if there were elves were working inside. LOL.

I will never forget this night: so proud, free and naked. :)

58443593_452611652152320_3025868141512097792_n.jpg

Laura, Auckland

I absolutely loved The Naked Dinner! I was a little nervous at first, but after a while, I relaxed and felt right at home alongside everyone else. It felt so freeing to show my body, with all it's "imperfections", safe in the knowledge that we are all human and all beautiful. The food was fantastic (and healthy which is important to me) and the group was friendly and fun. I'm happy to say I gained some beautiful friendships out of the experience.

WhatsApp+Image+2019-02-16+at+14.29.03.jpg

Elianne, Auckland

I really enjoyed the concept of having dinner with complete strangers while being naked. The food was absolutely delicious and we were a really nice mix of people from all over the world. After the first couple of minutes of being naked around everyone else it became completely normal. This kind of atmosphere helped people open up. Being naked took many of the barriers away. The conversations I had with some of the other guests were really interesting and funny. I definitely recommend this event to anyone who wants to get outside their comfort zone and have a bit of fun!

naked-dinner-9-1.jpg

Eve & Iaros, London

Eve: It was my first ever experience of this kind and I really enjoyed it! The idea with an apron is amazing because I felt a bit nervous to get naked straight away but the ambiance of the evening was very welcoming and all the people were so nice that it gave me more confidence to get liberated. Food was also exceptional and perfectly served! So, if you are thinking of doing something completely different while keeping a good balance between discovering your own nudity and socialising with other people, I highly recommend this event!

30_TND_16 Nov 18.jpeg

Siera & Will, London

Fascinating concept! The venue was set up perfectly with low tables so we could sit comfortably on cushions. Great lighting. Everyone seemed very comfortable and we discussed a variety of topics surrounding nudity. Great experience to get out of your comfort zone and meet some cool and quirky people.

DSC00036.jpg

Nicola, London

This was one of the highlights of my year. The hosts were warm and accommodating. The food and conversation flowed. Delicious, well presented food. Speaking to strangers gave me a kick to try something new and I embarked on burlesque classes as a result. The evening was fun and the excitement I left on lasted weeks.